Wisconsin Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired

Created under 1999 Wisconsin Act 9, the Wisconsin Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired (WCBVI) is the reorganized, innovative part of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction providing statewide services to blind and visually impaired students. As a part of the Department of Public Instruction’s Division for Learning Support: Equity and Advocacy, the WCBVI is the lead resource for providing quality services to blind and visually impaired school-age children.

The WSBVI campus is located adjacent to the beautiful Rock river near downtown Janesville, Wisconsin. The WSBVI operates the Wisconsin School for the Blind and Visually Impaired (WSBVI), a residential school for blind and visually impaired K-12 students. The school, in addition to providing a general education curriculum, offers intensive instruction in skills which minimize the effects of blindness (e.g. Braille instruction, travel with white cane, use of technology, appropriate social skills which would otherwise be learned incidentally through sight, etc.). The WSBVI, through its Janesville campus/school and the regional sites, provide a wide array of statewide services, assessments, summer/weekend programs, resources, and professional opportunities.

The WSVBI is guided in it’s mission by the The Blind and Visual Impairment Education Advisory Council which is comprised of professionals, parents, advocates, and leaders in general and special education of the blind and visually impaired.

Contact Information

1700 West State
Janesville, Wisconsin 53546
Phone: 608-758-6100 Fax:608-758-6116
Website: http://www.wcbvi.k12.wi.us/

Title Name Phone Email
Center Director Pete Dally 608-758-4925 pete.dally@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Education Director Kim Heimerl 608-758-6120 kim.heimerl@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Athletic Director Kelly Bailey 608-758-6100 x5353 kelly.bailey@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Boys Track Coach Kelly Bailey 608-758-6100 x5353 kelly.bailey@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Girls Track Coach Becky Heimerl 608-758-6100 x5329 becky.heimerl@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Wrestling Coach Dustin Andrews 608-758-6100 x5710 dustin.andrews@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Head Cheerleading Coach
Asst. Cheerleading Coach
Amy Snow
Jenny Stroh
608-758-6100 x5359
608-758-6100 x5354
amy.snow@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
jennifer.stroh@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Boys Swim Coach Dustin Andrews 608-758-6100 x5710 dustin.andrews@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Girls Swim Coach Nancy Schneider nancy.schneider@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Head Forensics Coach
Asst. Forensics Coach
Karen Heesen
Marty Mulhern
608-758-6100 x5332
608-758-6100 x5367
karen.heesen@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
martin.mulhern@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Head Goal Ball Marty Mulhern 608-758-6100 x5367 martin.mulhern@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Asst. Goal Ball Coach Dustin Andrews 608-758-6100 x5710 dustin.andrews@wcbvi.k12.wi.us
Mascot Badger
School Colors Orange & Black