Illinois School for the Visually Impaired

The Illinois School for the Visually Impaired is a school established by the Illinois Legislature in 1849 to provide specialized and intense services which focus on the unique learning needs of students with visual impairments, including additional disabilities. ISVI recognizes and addresses the unique educational needs and interests of each student. Every student receives instruction and guidance from staff who are sensitive to the needs of visually impaired students. ISVI stands ready to assist local schools and parents whenever students need the services and resources of this school. ISVI provides a broad range of instruction and services on its campus.Students can learn with specially trained teachers and other staff who understand vision loss and its effects on development.

Educators who are certified in visual impairments and/or subject area:

  • Orientation and Mobility specialists
  • Occupational and Physical therapists
  • Adaptive Physical Education educator
  • Speech/Language specialist
  • Psychologist and Social Workers who provide counseling
  • Low Vision specialist
  • Technology specialist

Students have access to 24-hour per day Health Center, staffed by licensed nurses 7 days a week. ISVI Students will experience a school day which integrates language development, motor skills, independent living and self-help skills, behavior management and social development into all aspects of learning.

 

ISVI provides blind and partially seeing students a comprehensive educational program commensurate with the individual needs and abilities. The school offers education, counseling, prevocational and vocational training, independent living skill training and an extensive range of extracurricular activities. The programs at ISVI are flexible enough to provide for the diverse needs of visually impaired students, including those with special needs.

Contact Information

658 East State Street
Jacksonville, Illinois 62650
Phone: 217-479-4400 Fax: 217-479-4479
Website: http://www.isvi.net/

Title Name Phone Email
Superintendent Serena Preston Ext. 4401 Serena.Preston@illinois.gov
Principal Aimee Veith Ext. 4436 Aimee.Veith@illinois.gov
Athletic Director Dawn Chambers Ext. 4456 dawn.m.chambers3@illinois.gov
Boys Track Coach Barbara French Ext. 4436 barbara.french@illinois.gov
Girls Track Coach Cindy Kemp Ext. 4436 cindy.kemp@illinois.gov
Wrestling Coach Tom Card Ext. 4456 tom.card@illinois.gov
Head Cheerleading Coach Vicki Mullis Ext. 4436 vicki.mullis@illinois.gov
Asst. Cheerleading Coach Barbara Strang Ext. 4436 barbara.strang@illinois.gov 
Head Swim Coach Barbara French Ext. 4436 barbara.french@illinois.gov
Asst. Swim Coach Darla Chambers Ext. 4436 darla.chambers@illinois.gov
Forensics Coach Vicki Mullis Ext. 4436 vicki.mullis@illinois.gov
Boys Goal Ball Coach Dawn Chambers Ext. 4456 dawn.m.chambers3@illinois.gov
Girls Goal Ball Coach Darla Chambers Ext. 4436 darla.chambers@illinois.gov
Ext. 4436
Mascot Warrior
School Colors Maroon & Gold