Missouri School for the Blind

MSB is unique in that it offers expertise, resources and services 24 hours a day. MSB is a day school with a residential component serving over 1,200 children between the ages of 0-21 at either its center base in St. Louis or through its outreach services effort. The agency employs nearly 200 staff on a full-time, part-time, or contractual basis.

The Missouri School for the Blind was established in 1851, becoming the twelfth school for the blind in the country. The school was established with the idea that all children could learn given the opportunity. This was the belief of Mr. Eli William Whalen, a blind man who had formerly been Superintendent of the Tennessee Institution for the Blind at Nashville. In the fall of 1850 he came to St. Louis in pursuit of building a similar school. The School was the first in the western hemisphere to teach the reading and writing of Braille.

Contact Information

3815 Magnolia Avenue
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
Phone: 314-776-4320 Fax: 314-776-1875
Website: http://www.msb.k12.mo.us/

Title Name Phone Email
Superintendent Geoffery Barney 314-633-3963 geoffery.barney@msb.dese.mo.gov
Principal Joyce Waddell 314-633-3948 joyce.waddell@msb.dese.mo.gov
Athletic Director Tim Cobb 314-633-3920 timothy.cobb@msb.dese.mo.gov
Boys Track Coach Tim Cobb 314-633-3920 timothy.cobb@msb.dese.mo.gov
Girls Track Coach Desiree Oestricker 314-633-1552 Desiree.Oestricker@msb.dese.mo.gov
Head Wrestling Coach Paul Ehresman 314-633-3920 ehrestiltskin@yahoo.com
Asst. Wrestling Coach Adnan Gutic 314-633-1576 Adnan.Gutic@msb.k12.mo.gov
Head Cheerleading Coach Tonia Scherer 314-633-3939 tonia.scherer@msb.k12.mo.gov
Asst. Cheerleading Coach Diana Guth 314-633-1575 Diana.guth@msb.k12.mo.gov
Head Swim Coach Paul Ehresman 314-633-3920 ehrestiltskin@yahoo.com
Asst. Swim Coach Desiree Oestricker 314-633-1552 Desiree.Oestricker@msb.dese.mo.gov
Head Forensics Coach Lynn Navy 314-633-1593 lynn.navy@msb.dese.mo.gov
Boys Goal Ball Coach Tim Cobb 314-633-3920 timothy.cobb@msb.dese.mo.gov
Girls Goal Ball Coach Paul Ehresman 314-633-3920 ehrestiltskin@yahoo.com
Mascot Mule
School Colors Maroon & White