The Ohio State School for the Blind

In 1837, the Ohio government established the Ohio Institution for the Education of the Blind. This institution was the predecessor of the Ohio State School for the Blind. It was the first public school for the blind in the United States. The school opened its doors in 1837, and it was located in downtown Columbus, Ohio. Any blind children residing in Ohio could attend the institution. Eleven students enrolled at the Ohio Institution for the Education of the Blind this first year. In 1839 the first school building was constructed & initially had a maximum capacity of sixty students, but upon moving to a new building in 1874, more than three hundred students could attend at one time. Between 1839 and 1901 2,058 students enrolled at the Ohio Institution for the Education of the Blind, with 339 attending in 1901 alone.

In the early 1900s, the Ohio Institution for the Education of the Blind became known as the Ohio State School for the Blind, and the Ohio Department of Education assumed control of the school. In 1953, the school moved ten miles north of its original location to its present home. In 2005, 126 students enrolled in the Ohio State School for the Blind. Students as young as three and as old as twenty-one years of age attended the school. Students could receive their entire education—kindergarten through high school—at the institution. In addition, the Ohio State School for the Blind offeres vocational training for its students.

Contact Information

Title Name Phone Email
Superintendent Alison LaBarre alabarre@ossb.oh.gov
Principal  Danny Ransey 614-468-8870 dransey@ossb.oh.gov 
Athletic Director Alison Brewer 614-468-8899 abrewer@ossb.oh.gov
Boys Track Coach Ron Heath rheath@ossb.oh.gov 
Girls Track Coach Laura Shearer 614-468-8881 lshearer@ossb.oh.gov
Head Wrestling Coach
Assistant Wrestling Coach
Ron HeathLee Mascarello 614-468-8864 rheath@ossb.oh.govlmascarello@ossb.oh.gov 
Head Cheerleading Coach
Asst. Cheerleading Coach
Ashley Shope ashope@ossb.oh.gov
Head Swim Coach Ceil Peirano 614-468-8874 cpeirano@ossb.oh.gov
Assistant Swim Coach Steve Grim 614-468-8880 sgrim@ossb.oh.gov
Head Forensics Coach
Assistant Forensics Coach
Michelle Wagner
Ashley Traucht
614-468-8887 mwagner@ossb.oh.gov
atraucht@ossb.oh.gov
Boys Goalball Coach Steve Grim sgrim@ossb.oh.gov
Girls Goalball Coach Kim Picard 614-468-8875 kpicard@ossb.oh.gov
Mascot Panther
School Colors Red & Blue

5220 North High Street
Columbus, Ohio 43214
Phone:614-752-1359
Fax:
614-752-1713
Website: http://www.ossb.oh.gov