Kansas State School for the Blind

The Kansas State School for the Blind (KSSB) has been in existence since 1867 and demonstrates the long-standing commitment by the State of Kansas to the area of special education. This agency is governed by the Kansas State Board of Education, and provides an environment rich in comprehensive education services, curriculum, and transition planning specifically tailored to blindness and deaf-blindness. KSSB leads through partnerships with parents, local school districts, and community resources to ensure equal access to a high quality education for all Kansas students who are blind or visually impaired.

The mission of KSSB is to empower students with the knowledge, attitudes, and skills needed to assume responsible roles in society and to lead fulfilling lives. With an environment rich in comprehensive services, education specialists, an individualized accredited curriculum, and transition planning, KSSB will lead through partnerships with parents, local schools, and community resources to ensure equal access to a high quality education for all Kansas students who are blind or visually impaired regardless of where they attend school.

Contact Information

1100 State Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66102
Phone:913-281-3308 Fax:913-281-3104
Website: http://www.kssdb.org

Title Name Phone Email
Superintendent William Daugherty Ext. 307 bdaugherty@kssdb.org
Principal Madeleine Burkindine Ext. 326 mburkindine@kssdb.org
Athletic Director Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Boys Track Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Girls Track Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Wrestling Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Cheerleading Coach Cherie Hill Ext. 366 chill@kssdb.org
Boys Swim Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Girls Swim Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Forensics Coach Helen Boduch-Hahn Ext. 365 shahn@kssdb.org
Boys Goal Ball Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Girls Goal Ball Coach Tim Schierbeck Ext. 341 tschierbeck@kssdb.org
Recreation Director Erin Kelly Ext. 408 ekelly@kssdb.org
Mascot Eagles
School Colors Royal Blue and Red