Iowa Braille School

The Goals of the Statewide System for Vision Services

  • Provide equitable access to a continuum of high quality services for all students in Iowa who are blind and visually impaired, including those with multiple disabilities
  • Assure an adequate supply of highly trained teachers and orientation and mobility specialists
  • Assure adequate and professional supervision, ongoing professional development and equitable job assignments for professionals working with blind and visually impaired students
  • Eliminate duplication in service delivery by creating a seamless coordinated system of services to blind and visually impaired students across multiple funding sources and agencies responsible for this population
  • Maintain a center of excellence in Iowa for discipline specific expertise at Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School (IBSSS)

Contact Information

1002 G Ave.
Vinton, Iowa 52349
Phone:319-472-5221 Fax:319-472-4371
Website: http://www.iowa-braille.k12.ia.us/

Title Name Phone Email
Superintendent Steve Gettel 406-899-0956 Mobile sgettel@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Regional Director (East) Pam Rubel 319-560-4165 Mobile prubel@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Regional Director (West) Gwen Woodward 319-310-3408 Mobile gwoodward@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Regional Director AEA 267 & Keystone Harold Colsch 319-330-6869 Mobile HColsch@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Athletic Director
Cheerleading Coach
Boys/Girls Track Coach
Michelle Tauke 319-540-9329 Mobile mtauke@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Head Swim Coach Brandon Schellhorn 641-342-2398 Mobile bschellhorn@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
 Wrestling Coach Harold Colsch 319-330-6869 Mobile HColsch@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Forensics Coach Margie Ortgiesen 319-472-4932 Home
319-551-1553 Mobile
mortgy@aol.com
Goalball Coach Jonathan Karli  515-689-9062 jKarli@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Mascot Ram
School Colors Red & White